Awards and Named Lectures

Distinguished Service Award

This longstanding award program, almost as old the Society itself, was established to recognize outstanding contributions to STS and the specialty. [More]

Earl Bakken Scientific Achievement Award

This award was initiated in 1999 with funding from Medtronic, Inc. to recognize outstanding scientific contributions that have enhanced the practice of cardiothoracic surgery and patients' quality of life. [More]

President's Award

Instituted in 2011, this award program was created to honor the work of promising young investigators. [More]

Ralph D. Alley Lecture

Named after a former Secretary of the Society, the first Ralph D. Alley Lecture was given at the 1991 Annual Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, FL. [More]

Thomas B. Ferguson Lecture

Established in 2000, the Ferguson Lecture recognizes and honors Thomas B. Ferguson, MD, who had a profound influence on the specialty. [More]

C. Walton Lillehei Lecture

This lectureship addresses different topics each year that pertain to research, basic science, or any other area of interest to the field of cardiothoracic surgery, as determined by the Society. [More]

Herbert E. Sloan Lecture

Named after the second Editor of The Annals of Thoracic Surgery and a Past President of the Society, the first Herbert E. Sloan Lecture was given at the 1988 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA. [More]