Member News: Fall 2013

STS News, Fall 2013

Mathisen Awarded ESTS Honorary Membership
STS Past President Douglas J. Mathisen, MD was presented with Honorary Membership in the European Society of Thoracic Surgeons at the ESTS Annual Meeting this past May. Dr. Mathisen is the Hermes C. Grillo Professor of Thoracic Surgery at Harvard Medical School and Chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital. He served as the Society’s President from 2010 to 2011 and currently serves on the Finance Committee and the Nominating Committee. Dr. Mathisen is also the Special Articles Deputy Editor for The Annals of Thoracic Surgery. He has been an STS member since 1987.

Mack Receives Achievement Award
STS Past President Michael J. Mack, MD was honored with The New Orleans Conference’s 2013 Achievement Award this past June. The award recognized a lifetime of dedication and innovation in the field of cardiac surgery. This is the third year the award has been given, with John Oschner, MD and STS Past President Denton Cooley, MD being the previous two awardees. Dr. Mack was presented the award by Dr. Oschner. Dr. Mack is currently the Medical Director of Cardiovascular Surgery for the Baylor Health Care System and Chairman of The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano Research Center. He served as STS President from 2011 to 2012 and currently serves on the Nominating Committee. Additionally, he is Chair of the STS/ACC TVT Registry™ Steering Committee. He has been an STS member since 1986.

Jones Leads MSKCC Thoracic Surgery
In August, David R. Jones, MD became Chief of Thoracic Surgery at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. He also serves as Vice-Chair for Quality for the Department of Surgery and co-leader for the Thoracic Oncology Disease Management Team. Dr. Jones currently serves on the STS Board of Directors, the Education and Member Services Council Operating Board, the Workforce on Research Development, the Workforce on Health Policy, Reform and Advocacy, and The Annals of Thoracic Surgery Editorial Board. He has been an STS member since 2002.

Bhatia Appointed to Texas Medical Board
Devinder S. Bhatia, MD has been appointed by Governor Rick Perry to the Texas Medical Board, which establishes and maintains standards of excellence used in regulating the practice of medicine and ensuring quality health care for Texans. Dr. Bhatia is President of Southeast Texas Cardiovascular P.A. He has been an STS member since 2005.

Submit news about yourself or a colleague to stsnews [at] sts [dot] org. Submissions will be printed based on content, membership status, and space available.