Member News: Spring 2014

STS News, Spring 2014

Sellke Receives AHA Award
Frank W. Sellke, MD, the Karlson & Karlson Professor and Chief of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University and Rhode Island Hospital, received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Heart Association this past November. He is currently Vice Chair of the AHA’s Scientific Sessions Program Committee and will start his duties as Chair of that committee in December 2014. Dr. Sellke also received the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award from his alma mater, Indiana University School of Medicine. He has been an STS member since 1994.

Rehman Launches Valve Program in Pakistan
Atiq Rehman, MD has worked with surgeons at the Armed Forces Institute of Cardiology in Pakistan to launch the country’s first minimally invasive valve program. The team has performed several minimally invasive mitral valve repairs through a right minithoracotomy and plans to add minimally invasive aortic valve replacement and coronary artery bypass grafting in the future. Dr. Rehman is the Director of Robotics and Minimally Invasive Cardiac Surgery at Sarasota Memorial Hospital in Florida. He has been an STS member since 2013.

Ferdinand Elected ISMICS President
Francis D. Ferdinand, MD, FRCS has been elected President of the International Society for Minimally Invasive Cardiothoracic Surgery. He was also recently elected a Governor-at-Large of the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Ferdinand is the Surgical Director of Cardiovascular Quality and Strategy at Main Line Health System and Lankenau Medical Center in Philadelphia. He has been an STS member since 1994.

Submit news about yourself or a colleague to stsnews [at] sts [dot] org. Submissions will be printed based on content, membership status, and space available.