STS Summer Series: Economic Impact of COVID and Implications for the Future of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Event dates

6:00 p.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CT, 3:00 p.m. PT

Economic Impact of COVID and Implications for the Future of Cardiothoracic Surgery

The COVID pandemic has not only had a devastating humanitarian impact, but it also has shocked health care system finances. In this webinar, STS President Joseph A. Dearani, MD, will talk with cardiothoracic surgeons, a hospital executive, and a health care consultant about:

  • The overall financial impact on health care systems, including the immediate consequences, expectations for the next 18 months, and balancing cuts versus preparedness for future COVID surges
  • Different experiences and realities for private practices, hospitals, and academic medical centers
  • Changes for staff, including hiring, layoffs/furloughs, compensation, and budgets for CME, travel, training, and education
  • The long-term economic consequences on the cardiothoracic surgery specialty, including how the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is still moving forward with planned Medicare payment cuts  
  • Possible silver linings and lasting positive impacts

This series is supported by Medtronic.

 

Moderator
joseph-dearani-11226374.ashx.jpg Joseph A. Dearani, MD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
 

 

Panelists
Vinay Badhwar Preferred Headshot_ratio_150.jpg Vinay Badhwar, MD
West Virginia University Heart and Vascular Institute
Morgantown, WV
bn-freeman-new_ratio_150.jpg Richard K. Freeman, MD, MBA
Loyola Medicine
Chicago, IL
Robert Jasak_ratio.jpg Robert S. Jasak, JD
Hart Health Strategies Inc.
Washington, DC
schwartz-2_ratio_150.jpg Roberta Schwartz, PhD
Houston Methodist Hospital
Houston, TX
 

 

Agenda and participants subject to change