Member News: Winter 2019

Professorship Named After Bove; Ohye Is First Recipient
Edward L. Bove, MD (right) has been honored for his pioneering work in congenital heart surgery with the establishment of the Edward L. Bove Professorship of Cardiac Surgery at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Dr. Bove currently serves as the Helen F. and Marvin M. Kirsh Professor of Cardiac Surgery at Michigan and was the inaugural Chair of the Department of Cardiac Surgery from 2011 to 2018. He has been an STS member since 1983. Richard G. Ohye, MD is the first recipient of the Professorship. He is the Associate Chair of the Department of Cardiac Surgery, Head of the Section of Pediatric Cardiovascular Surgery, and Co-Director of the University of Michigan C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital Congenital Heart Center. Dr. Ohye has been an STS member since 2003.

Rusch Becomes ACS President-Elect
Valerie W. Rusch, MD is the 2018-2019 President-Elect of the American College of Surgeons. She also is the recipient of the College’s 2018 Distinguished Service Award—its highest honor. Dr. Rusch is the Vice Chair of Clinical Research and holds the Miner Family Chair in Intrathoracic Cancers at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. She has been an STS member since 1988.

Chen Is Chief at CHOP
Jonathan M. Chen, MD has joined the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia as Chief of Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery and Co-Executive Director of the Cardiac Center. He also holds the Mortimer J. Buckley Jr. Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery. Previously, Dr. Chen was Chief of Congenital Cardiac Surgery at Seattle Children’s Hospital, as well as Co-Director of the Heart Center and Professor of Surgery at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He has been an STS member since 2004.

Bhora Elected as ECTSS President
Faiz Y. Bhora, MD is the new President of the Eastern Cardiothoracic Surgical Society. He also is President of the New York General Thoracic Surgical Club. Dr. Bhora is Chief of Thoracic Surgery at Mount Sinai West and Mount Sinai St. Luke’s Hospitals in New York City. He has been an STS member since 2005.

Weksler Appointed System Director
Benny Weksler, MD, MBA has been named System Director of General Thoracic Surgery at Allegheny Health Network in Pittsburgh. Previously, Dr. Weksler was Chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery, Professor of Surgery, and the Eastridge-Cole Endowed Professor of Thoracic Oncology at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis. He has been an STS member since 2001.

Lee Moves to Georgia
Richard Lee, MD is the new Chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University. Previously, Dr. Lee was Co-Director of the Center for Comprehensive Cardiovascular Care at St. Louis University School of Medicine. He has been an STS member since 2005 and chairs the Society’s Workforce on Annual Meeting.

Varghese Tapped as Master Surgeon Educator
Thomas K. Varghese Jr., MD, MS was elected as an Associate Member of the American College of Surgeons’ Academy of Master Surgeon Educators. Members of the Academy work closely with the College to identify trends in surgical education and foster innovation in the field. Dr. Varghese is the Chief Value Officer at the University of Utah’s Huntsman Cancer Institute in Salt Lake City. He has been an STS member since 2006 and chairs the Society’s Workforce on Clinical Education.

Marsh Promoted to Director
Dale H. Marsh, MD has been named Director of the Cardiovascular Interventional ICU Team at the Cleveland Clinic. Previously, he was a Cardiothoracic Intensivist at the Clinic. Dr. Marsh has been an STS member since 2013.

Submit news about yourself or a colleague via email. Submissions will be printed based on content, membership status, and space available.