STS News – Winter 2021

In this issue, read about what to expect during STS 2021, including the new course series “Immersive Video Experiences,” and learn the details of the STS Mentorship Program, the newest enhancements to the STS National Database, the state of TAVR, the latest on the Medicare payment cuts, and more.

STS 2021 Stands Ready to Excite, Educate, and Inspire

STS 2021 will offer a state-of-the art virtual conference platform with an innovative learning environment, reliable functionality, and intuitive navigation. With increased flexibility and expanded reach, attendees will be able to connect in ways never before possible and actively learn in a uniquely immersive and engaging online setting.

New Mentorship Program Helps Build Tomorrow’s Leaders

The Society has launched a year-round mentorship program designed to connect those seeking mentorship with seasoned surgeons. Through this program, STS members at any career level can apply for mentorship or to become a mentor.

Member News: Winter 2021

Find the latest updates on STS member job changes, promotions, and appointments, including for Drs. Tom Nguyen, Sean Grondin, Gorav Ailawadi, Edward Chen, Jennifer Romano, Anthony Estrera, Dimitrios Avgerinos, Basel Ramlawi, Stephen Bailey, Daniel Lee, Mamdouh Dakhel Al-Ahmadi, Arthur Katz, Austin Ward, Sunjay Kaushal, and Dante Dali.

President's Column: Rising to the Challenge

I’m glad that 2020 is in the rearview mirror. 2020 took a toll on everyone—from the global pandemic and greater awareness about social injustices, to wildfires, hurricanes, and other natural disasters. No one was immune from stress, exhaustion, and uncertainty. Cardiothoracic surgeons rose to the challenge, however, and showed their grit throughout the year.

In Memoriam: Vincent L. Gott, MD

An internationally renowned cardiothoracic surgeon known for his humility and civility passed away on November 20 at the age of 93. Vincent L. Gott, MD, became the Society’s 27th President in 1992 after having served as the Society’s Vice President.