STS Receives Esteemed Eisenberg Award

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) have awarded STS the prestigious John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award, which recognizes individuals and organizations who undertake groundbreaking initiatives that support “better care, healthy people and communities, and smarter spending.”

The Society was honored for its quality programs, including the STS National Database, NQF-endorsed composite performance measures, and the STS Public Reporting initiative.

The award was presented on March 25 during the NQF Annual Conference in Washington, DC. David M. Shahian, MD accepted on behalf of the Society.