The Annals Reviewers of the Year

The “Reviewer of the Year” award from The Annals of Thoracic Surgery recognizes peer reviewers who consistently provide a combination of high-quality, thorough, and professional reviews in a timely manner. 

Four reviewers will be recognized annually based on:

  • The number of completed reviews 
  • Average review rating (1-5 scale)
  • Reviews submitted on time (within a 14-day deadline) 
  • Feedback from deputy editors 

If you are interested in joining the “Reviewer Volunteer” program, contact

2022 Reviewers of the Year

General Thoracic
Alejandro Bribriesco, MD
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Adult Cardiac
Heidi J. Reich, MD
Central California Heart and Lung Surgery
Fresno, CA

Nishant Saran, MBBS
Mayo Clinic Eau Claire
Eau Claire, WI

Alejandro Suarez-Pierre, MD
University of Colorado
Aurora, CO

2021 Reviewers of the Year

Makoto Hibino, MD, MPH, PhD
St. Michael's Hospital, University of Toronto
Toronto, ON, Canada 

Adult Cardiac 
Masashi Kawabori, MD
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

General Thoracic
Olugbenga T. Okusanya, MD
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA

Adult Cardiac
Fawwaz R. Shaw, MD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

2020 Reviewers of the Year

General Thoracic
Chadrick E. Denlinger, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Kathryn E. Engelhardt, MD, MS 
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO

Tracy R. Geoffrion, MD, MPH 
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

Adult Cardiac 
Danny Ramzy, MD, PhD
Cedars Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA