Featured Experts

Mara B. Antonoff, MD
Dr. Antonoff is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

Melanie A. Edwards, MD
Dr. Edwards is a General Thoracic Surgeon at IHA Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery at St. Joe's Ann Arbor in Ypsilanti, Michigan. She holds leadership positions in The Society of Thoracic Surgeons and Women in Thoracic Surgery.

Erin A Gillaspie, MD, MPH
Dr. Gillaspie is an Assistant Professor and Head of Thoracic Surgery Robotics in the Department of Thoracic Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

Damien J. LaPar, MD, MSc
Dr. LaPar is a pediatric and congenital cardiac surgeon at the NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital at Columbia University Medical Center and Weill Cornell Medical Center in New York City. His clinical interests are in neonatal cardiac surgery, pediatric VADs, minimally invasive pediatric cardiac surgery, and video-assisted thoracic surgery for PDA ligation and vascular ring repair. His research interests include stem cell and myocardial regenerative therapy, as well as multi-institutional clinical research collaboratives and clinical trials.

Melissa M. Levack, MD  
Dr. Levack is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Cardiac Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee. Her clinical interests include adult congenital heart and valve disease, aortic aneurysms cardiac valve disease, coronary heart disease, minimally invasive cardiac surgery, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement.

Gabriel Loor, MD
Dr. Loor is the Surgical Director of Lung Transplantation and Co-Chief of the Section of Adult Cardiac Surgery at Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center in Houston, Texas.

Clauden Louis, MD
Dr. Louis is a resident physician in cardiothoracic surgery at University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester New York. He volunteers extensively for the AHA, ACC, STS and TSRA.

Brian Mitzman, MD 
Dr. Mitzman is an assistant professor with NYU Langone Health and attending thoracic surgeon at NYU Winthrop Hospital. He completed his cardiothoracic surgery fellowship at The University of Chicago in 2018.

David D. Odell, MD, MMSc
Dr. Odell is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Thoracic Surgery at Northwestern University in Chicago.

Olugbenga T. Okusanya, MD
Dr. Okusanya is an Assistant Professor of Surgery at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia. He specializes in thoracic surgery. 

Joseph D. Phillips, MD
Dr. Phillips is an Assistant Professor at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth.

V. Seenu Reddy, MD, MBA
Dr. Reddy is the Surgical Director of the Structural Heart Program at TriStar Centennial Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee. He also is the current President of the Nashville Academy of Medicine.

Betty C. Tong, MD, MHS, MS
Dr. Tong is a Surgical Oncologist and Thoracic Surgeon at Duke Health in Durham, NC. She is also an Associate Professor of Surgery in the Division of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery at Duke University School of Medicine.

Thomas K. Varghese Jr., MD, MS
Dr. Varghese is the Head of the Section of General Thoracic Surgery, Program Director of the Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, and Chief Value Officer at the Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah. He recently was appointed as the Deputy Editor of Digital Media and Digital Scholarship of The Annals of Thoracic Surgery and holds leadership positions in The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, the American College of Surgeons, the Thoracic Surgery Directors Association, the Society of University Surgeons, and the Surgical Outcomes Club. 

Douglas E. Wood, MD
Dr. Wood is the Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of Washington in Seattle. He serves as Chair of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) Lung Cancer Screening Panel and Vice-Chair of the NCCN Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Panel. He also is an STS Past President, a Past President of Thoracic Surgery Foundation, and has represented the Society on the Lung Cancer Guidelines panel of the American College of Chest Physicians.