Looking to the Future Scholarship Program

Since 2006, 490 scholarships have been awarded to underwrite expenses for attendance at the STS Annual Meeting and provide mentorship to aspiring cardiothoracic surgeons.

The application process for the 2019 STS Looking to the Future Scholarship Program is now closed.

Scholarships include complimentary registration for the STS 55th Annual Meeting and Tech-Con, January 26-29, 2019 in San Diego, California, a 3-night stay at an STS-designated hotel, participation in exclusive events, and reimbursement of up to $500 in related travel expenses.

Qualified applicants include general surgery residents and medical students who are training at an institution in the United States or Canada and are considering a career in cardiothoracic surgery. The primary goal of the scholarship is to provide mentorship for the best and brightest of these applicants in the hopes of encouraging them to pursue CT surgery. Priority will be given to applicants who have not attended a national cardiothoracic surgery meeting or received another CT surgery meeting scholarship (such as the AATS Member for a Day scholarship, STSA Brooks Scholarship, or WTS scholarship). Please note that previous Looking to the Future Scholarship recipients are not eligible; however, previous applicants are encouraged to re-apply. 

The following are eligible to apply:

  • Medical students training at an institution in the United States or Canada;
  • Clinical PGY1, PGY2, or PGY3 general surgery residents training at an institution in the United States or Canada; and
  • General surgery residents on dedicated research time who have not started their PGY4 clinical year training at an institution in the United States or Canada.

Interested candidates must apply online. In addition to completing an online application, applicants will be asked to upload a current CV and a letter of recommendation signed by his or her Program Director or cardiothoracic surgery mentor. (Medical students may upload a letter of recommendation from an active faculty member at their medical school). 

Incomplete applications will not be considered. Scholarship recipients will be announced in November 2018.

Please contact Rachel Pebworth with any questions.

2018 Medical Student Recipients
Esteban Aguayo
UCLA/CDU School of Medicine
Hayden Leeds
Oregon Health and Science University
Michael Basin
Keck School of Medicine
Mitchell Milanuk
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Juan Caceres
University of Michigan Medical School
Jack Mizelle
Boston University School of Medicine
Nicholas Cavanaugh
Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Ian Monroe
University of Toledo College of Medicine
Sarah Chen
University of California, Davis
Morgan Moroi
Penn State College of Medicine
Paul Delle
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Max Jordan Nguemeni Tiako
Yale School of Medicine
Kathleen Doyle
Emory University School of Medicine
Jacqueline Olive
Baylor College of Medicine
Malak Elbatarny
Queen's University
Felix Orelaru
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
James Etheridge
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Chelsea-Ann Patry
University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville
Dwight Harris
The University of Kentucky
Joel Ramirez
University of California, San Francisco
Sarah Hill
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Benjamin Smood
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Melissa Koci
Medical University of South Carolina
Rosalie Sterner
Mayo Clinic School of Medicine
Aravind Krishnan
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Anirudh Vinnakota
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Connor Kriz
Chicago Medical School/Rosalind Franklin University
Linh Vuong
Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Samantha Landino
Harvard Medical School
John Wright
University of Louisville



2018 General Surgery Resident Recipients
Alicia Bonanno
Oregon Health and Science University
John Monu
University of Washington
Darren Bryan
University of Chicago
Andrew Nagy
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Michael Cain
Medical College of Wisconsin Affilliated Hospitals
Alexander Nissen
San Antonio Military Medical Center
James Clark
University of California, Davis
Rio Nomoto
Tufts Medical Center
Erin Corsini
Baylor College of Medicine
Kunal Patel
Medical University of South Carolina
Michael Dacey
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Lam Pham
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Justin Drake
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Joseph Reza
Florida Hospital 
Sarah Eapen
Summa Health
Robert Roether
Spectrum Health/Michigan State University
Rahul Handa
Washington University in St. Louis
John Vossler
University of Hawaii
Mickey Ising
University of Louisville
Niluka Wickramaratne
Virginia Commonwealth University
Michael Jarrett
University of Colorado
Aaron Williams
University of Michigan Health System/Michigan Medicine
Jahnavi Kakuturu
Saint Mary's Hospital
Brittney Williams
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Nick Levinsky    
University of Cincinnati
Stanley Wolfe
Allegheny General Hospital
Kimberly Linden    
Cooper University Hospital
Joshua Yoon
George Washington University
Vanessa Miller    
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Xue Zeng
University of Texas Southwestern


From left: LTTF Scholarship recipients Ace St. John
and Alyssa Flores with Elizabeth A. David, MD and
Rishindra M. Reddy, MD at the STS Annual Meeting
in January 2017.