March 28, 2019
4 min read

STS Receives Esteemed Eisenberg Award
The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) have awarded STS the prestigious John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award, which recognizes individuals and organizations who undertake groundbreaking initiatives that support “better care, healthy people and communities, and smarter spending.”

The Society was honored for its quality programs, including the STS National Database, NQF-endorsed composite performance measures, and the STS Public Reporting initiative.

The award was presented on March 25 during the NQF Annual Conference in Washington, DC.

From left: The Joint Commission EVP David W. Baker, MD, MPH, STS President Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, MSHA, STS National Database Founder and Task Force on Quality Measurement Chair David M. Shahian, MD, STS National Database Founder and Past President Frederick L. Grover, MD, and Shantanu Agrawal, MD, MPhil, NQF President and CEO.

Grover Receives Prestigious Award
STS Past President Frederick L. Grover, MD was awarded the 2019 John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award from the Houston Academy of Medicine and Harris County Medical Society (HCMS). This award recognizes multi-accomplished physicians who have enriched the field of medicine with excellence and humaneness. Dr. Grover served as Chair of the University of Colorado’s Department of Surgery from 2002 to 2012 and has been a leader in clinical outcomes measurement, clinical research, and heart and lung transplantation. He has been an STS member since 1974 and served as the Society’s President from 2006 to 2007.

From left: HCMS Past President Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, HCMS President Bernard M. Gerber, MD, STS Past President Frederick L. Grover, MD, HCMS Past President and STS Member Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, and STS Director-at-Large Ara A. Vaporciyan, MD

Shortened Grace Period for Dues Payments
The due date for annual membership dues payment is January 1 of the current year. In the past, a grace period of up to 1 year was provided; however, STS membership recently approved a Bylaws change that reduces the grace period from 1 year to 6 months. This means that in order to avoid the termination of your membership, you must pay your dues by June 30, 2019. If you have an outstanding balance, you can make your payment today at (you will need your STS username and password to log in). If you have any questions regarding dues payments or have trouble logging in, contact or call 312-202-5800.

Watch or Listen to STS Roundtable Discussions
Visit the Society’s YouTube channel at to view several roundtable discussions filmed at the STS 55th Annual Meeting. Leading experts discuss a wide range of topics, including advances in lung cancer early detection and therapy, pain management in cardiothoracic surgery, and how artificial intelligence can benefit cardiothoracic surgery. You also can listen to the audio at or subscribe to Surgical Hot Topics podcast on iTunes, Google Play, or where ever you access your favorite podcasts.

Colleagues Network at GTSC Meeting
The recent General Thoracic Surgical Club Meeting (GTSC) in Naples, Florida, provided surgeons with an opportunity to hear about new research and health policy information, as well as time to network with colleagues and friends. The 2020 GTSC Meeting will be March 12-15 in Tucson.

STS President Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, MSHA (right) and Malcolm V. Brock, MD, from Johns Hopkins Medicine

STS Has Presence at International Meetings

In February, STS Secretary Joseph F. Sabik III, MD and Director-at-Large Shanda H. Blackmon, MD, MPH (center) represented the Society at the 27th International Conference of the Asian Society for Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery and the 65th Indian Association of Cardiovascular – Thoracic Surgeons Congress in Chennai, India. Also pictured are STS members Byung C. Moon, MD (left) and Marc R. Moon, MD (right).

In March, STS Immediate Past President Keith S. Naunheim, MD (right) attended the Society for Cardiothoracic Surgery in Great Britain & Ireland Gala Dinner at the Globe Theater in London, along with SCTS President Richard Page.