The STS Looking to the Future Scholarship program is a best-in-class education and workforce development program that helps general surgery residents and medical students pursue careers in cardiothoracic surgery. STS works directly with the country’s most talented residents and students from diverse backgrounds and provides education and mentorship to help them navigate this exciting and complex medical specialty. 

The primary goal of the scholarship is to provide mentorship for the best and brightest medical students or general surgery residents in hopes of encouraging them to pursue careers in cardiothoracic surgery.

Since 2006, 785 aspiring cardiothoracic surgeons have received LTTF scholarships.

2024 STS LTTF Scholarship Benefits

  • One-on-one mentorship with a seasoned cardiothoracic surgeon and STS member
  • Interactive, collaborative learning 
  • Opportunities to expand your professional network through engagement with other general surgery residents and medical students  
  • Complimentary registration for the 2024 STS Annual Meeting, January 27-29, 2024, in San Antonio, TX
    • A 3-night stay at the STS-designated hotel (check-in January 26; departure January 29) 
    • Participation in exclusive events with association’s luminary members
    • Reimbursement of up to $550 in related travel expenses 


  • Medical students training at an institution in the United States or Canada
  • Clinical PGY1, PGY2, or PGY3 general surgery residents training at an institution in the United States or Canada
  • General surgery residents on dedicated research time who have not started their PGY4 clinical year training at an institution in the United States or Canada 

Priority is given to applicants who have not attended a national cardiothoracic surgery meeting or received another CT surgery meeting scholarship (such as AATS Member for a Day Scholarship, STSA Brooks Scholarship, or WTS Scholarship).

Application Requirements 

  • A current CV 
  • A letter of recommendation from a Program Director, cardiothoracic surgery mentor, or faculty member 

Applications will open in August 2023 and will close September 29, 2023.

Scholarship winners will be notified in late November/early December 2023.  

Email Maureen Ewing

2023 LTTF Recipients & Mentors

Medical Student Recipients
Nishant Agrawal
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Hanna Mandl
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Adham Ahmed
CUNY School of Medicine - New York, NY
Araiye Medlock
University of California, Davis
Alan Amedi
Emory School of Medicine
Pournika Muniyandi
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Medicine
Mohammad Arammash
University of California San Francisco
Ayesha Ng
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Philip Broughton
University of South Carolina
Xuan-Mai Nguyen
Carle Illinois College of Medicine
Lin Chen
Case Western Reserve University
John Nonu
University of Utah School of Medicine
Charles Crepy D'Orleans
Emory School of Medicine
George Olverson
University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
Juliana Cobb
University of Louisville School of Medicine
Jay Patel
California University of Science and Medicine
Abeer Dagra
University of Florida
Adegbemisola Perkins
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Tobias Fauser
University of Arizona COM - Tucson
Ryan Rebernick
University of Michigan
Yan Gernhofer
University of the Incarnate World School of Osteopathic Medicine, San Antonio
Natalia Roa-Vidal
University of Puerto Rico Medical Science Campus
Carter Glenn
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Natalie Schudrowitz
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Adam Kiridly
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Shwetabh Tarun
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Ryan Kramer
Duke University School of Medicine
Allie Thompson
University of Michigan
Anson Lee
University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine
Lamario Williams
University of Alabama at Birmingham
General Surgery Resident Recipients
Farshad Amirkhosravi
Houston Methodist Hospital
Lauren Johnson
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Adam Awe
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Jessica Katsiroubas
New York Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist
Louisa Bai
Washington University in St. Louis
Alixandra Killian
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Kian Banks
UCSF - East Bay
Eleanor Kitchell
University of Arizona - Phoenix
Sean Burgwardt
Saint Mary's Hospital - Connecticut
Nicole Lin
Westchester Medical Center - New York Medical College
Ifeanyi Chinedozi
University of Maryland
Brandon Peine
East Carolina University
Michael Eisenberg
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Terrance Peng
UCLA Medical Center
Katherine Foley
LSU New Orleans
Ryan Randle
Oregon Health and Science University
Kathleen Fuentes
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center
Marisa Sewell
Oregon Health & Science University
Hiba Ghandour
Duke University Hospital
Klaudiusz Stoklosa
Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Gianmarino Gianfrate
Mercy Health at St. Elizabeth Hospital - Ohio
Nikia Toomey
University of Tennessee Health Science Center - Memphis
Douglas Gouchoe
Wright-Patterson Medical Center - 88th Surgical Operations Squadron
Kaity Tung
SUNY - Buffalo
Elaine Griffeth
Mayo Clinic - Rochester
Kevin Wang
University of Arizona - Tucson
William Head
The Ohio State University
Noah Weingarten
Cleveland Clinic Foundation - University of Pennsylvania Research
Ryan Holcomb
Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Bobby Zhang
Madigan Army Medical Center
Ian Bostock
Medical University of South Carolina
David Odell
Northwestern University
Andrew Brownlee
Cedars Sinai Medical Center
Sara Pereira
University of Utah
Joshua Chan
Emory University
Joseph Phillips
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Joanna Chikwe
Cedars Sinai Medical Center
Allan Pickens
Emory University
David Cooke
University of California, Davis
Rishi Reddy
University of Michigan
Melanie Edwards
Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
Michael Reed
Penn State University
Kathryn Engelhardt
Medical University of South Carolina
Matthew Steliga
University of Arkansas 
Amy Fiedler
University of California, San Francisco 
Ram Subramanyan
University of Southern California
Arnar Geirsson
Yale University
Nick Teman
University of Virginia
Lawrence Greiten
University of Arkansas/Arkansas Children's Hospital
Elaine Tseng
University of California, San Francisco
Anita Kreuger
Baylor Scott & White-All Saints Medical Center
Robert Van Haren
University of Cincinnati
Damien LaPar
Health Houston
Jeffrey Velotta
Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center
Jeremiah Martin
Southern Ohio Medical Center
Jason Wallen
SUNY Upstate University Hospital
Nahush Mokadam
Ohio State University
Stephanie Worrell
University of Arizona
Tom Nguyen
University of California San Francisco
Stephen Yang
Johns Hopkins Hospital