April 1, 2022
3 min read

STS News, Spring 2022 — Surgeons, residents, medical students, perfusionists, industry representatives, and STS staff showed off their best times and team spirit to raise $33,000 for surgical research and innovation during the Thoracic Surgery Foundation (TSF) Fun Run & Walk in conjunction with STS 2022.

Participating solo or as part of teams, 113 registrants ran, walked, or rolled a 5k course, many bringing along children in strollers or athletic pets. They shared their finish times and photos on the TSF Fun Run leaderboard and on social media with the hashtag #TSF5K.

An all-virtual STS 2022 enabled participants like Andrew Chang and his well-geared companion to join from wherever they hail, even in “sunny Michigan.”

Funds raised through donations and pledges will benefit TSF, the Society’s charitable arm, and will support grants and scholarships that will enable the brightest minds in cardiothoracic surgery to perform research, education outreach, and quality improvement programs in the US and abroad.

Awards and accolades were given to record-setting individuals, including “fastest woman” Emily Wood and “fastest man” Dov Gertzulin. Wood also was part of the fastest participating team, UW Stamina, led by team captain Douglas E. Wood, MD, while Gertzulin ran with the largest team, Palisades Running Group, under captain Andrea Wolf, MD.

Dr. Backhus captained the Cardinal Chest Cutters, the top fundraising team for the 2022 TSF 5K Fun Run.

The top fundraising team was the Cardinal Chest Cutters, led by captain Leah M. Backhus, MD, MPH. Other notable winners were the Thoracic Surgery Medical Student Association team led by Zach Brennan, the Women in Thoracic Surgery team led by Lauren C. Kane, MD, and the Medtronic corporate team under Amy Devries.

“I’m always proud to see how enthusiastically the STS community participates in this event,” said STS Immediate Past President Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FRCSC. “It shows their commitment to the community, to supporting the specialty, and to literally ‘walking the walk’ when it comes to cardiovascular health.”

New Leadership, Bold Award Increases Welcomed in February

During its February meeting, the TSF Board of Directors appointed Joseph A. Dearani, MD, to succeed Joseph E. Bavaria as TSF President. Virginia R. Litle, MD, will serve as the new Vice President, and Anthony L. Estrera, MD, as Treasurer. In addition, the Foundation dramatically elevated funding for three critical research awards beginning in 2023. The STS Research Award increased from $100,000 to $180,000; the TSF Research Award increased from $100,000 to $170,000; and the TSF Resident Research Award increased from $80,000 to $120,000.

Since its inception in 1998, TSF has awarded more than $23 million in grants for cardiothoracic surgery research and education. Learn more at thoracicsurgeryfoundation.org